Press releases

Bauer wins big at the ARIAs

Bauer Radio was out in full force last night, to celebrate the winners at this year’s Audio & Radio Industry Awards (ARIAS). Teams and individuals from the radio business won 13 awards, in the ceremony hosted by Scott Mills at the First Direct Arena in Leeds.

The ARIAs are the audio and radio industry’s prestigious flagship awards and recognise innovation and excellence across all audio mediums, celebrating the very best of the industry. Performances on the night included Busted, The Fratellis, The Big Moon and Sigrid.

Bauer was recognised in 11 categories with a total of 13 awards in categories including; Best Marketing Campaign for Super Hero Day, National Radio Station of the Year for Planet Rock and Local Station of the Year for Metro Radio.

Magic and Absolute Radio’s Tony Moorey won Individual of the Year, an award voted for by Radio Academy members which recognises a person of outstanding achievement within the radio and audio industry.

Key 103’s suburb response to the tragic bombing in Manchester was recognised as Gold in the Best Community Programme and Best Coverage of an Event categories. Key’s newest breakfast presenter Gemma Atkinson picked up the Bronze award for Best New Presenter.

Two of Absolute Radio’s flagship shows won Gold, with Christian O’Connell’s Breakfast Show scoring in the Best Music Presenter – Breakfast and Best Branded Content or Partnership categories and The Frank Skinner Show winning for Best Entertainment/Comedy Production. Andrew Scott won Silver in Best New Presenter for the Absolute Radio U2@40 documentary.

Magic Radio’s Richard Allinson won Silver for Best Music Presenter – non breakfast and their partnership with the School of Rock Musical won Bronze for Best Branded Content or Partnership.

Not only that, but the receipts of this year’s Radio 30 Under 30 were awarded their prizes during the ceremony; Jak Carlin from Forth, Lauren Marshall from Clyde, Amy Scarisbrick from Key 103, Adem Waterman and Carl Frazer-Lunn from Absolute Radio, Sam Darlaston from KISS.

Please join us in congratulating the winners, which you can see in full below.


Best New Presenter

SLIVER: Andrew Scott, U2@40 Documentary (TBI Media/Absolute Radio)

BRONZE: Gemma Atkinson (Key 103)


Best Music Presenter – Breakfast

GOLD: The Christian O’Connell Breakfast Show (Absolute Radio)


Best Music Presenter – non breakfast

SILVER: Richard Allinson (Magic Radio)


Best Entertainment/Comedy Production

GOLD: The Frank Skinner Show (Avalon TV/Absolute Radio)


Best Community Programme

GOLD: The Manchester Bombing (Key 103)


Best Branded Content or Partnership

GOLD: The Christian O'Connell Breakfast Show with Wickes (Absolute Radio)

BRONZE: School of Rock (Magic Radio)


Best Marketing Campaign

BRONZE: Superhero Day (Bauer Media)


Best Coverage of an Event

GOLD: Manchester’s Response to the Arena Attack (Key 103)


Local Station of the Year

BRONZE: Metro Radio


National Radio Station of the Year

SILVER: Planet Rock


Individual of the Year (voted for by Radio Academy members)

Tony Moorey, Group Content Director, Magic and Absolute Radio