Skip to Content
23 October 2018

Bauer Radio snatches eleven Audio Production Awards nominations

Bauer Radio are celebrating a slew of nominations in this year’s Audio Production Awards 2018.

The Audio Production Awards celebrate outstanding achievements in audio and radio production within the designated categories covering both producers and on-mic talent.

Bauer’s nominations in full:


This award is for an exceptional producer working in music audio. Entries can range from single programmes and documentaries to sequence programmes, as well as specialist music programming, live music and discussion.

Jax Coombes, BBC 6 Music
Natalie Steed, Freelance
Nick Harris, Absolute Radio
Ollie Wilson, Somethin’ Else
Paul Smith, Just Radio Ltd
Steve Urquhart, Listen To Steve



Recognising producers who successfully create fresh and fun entertainment content. For example, entries might be drawn from live programmes and/or light-hearted podcasts.

Brian Murphy, Magic Radio & Absolute Radio
Claire Solan, Absolute Radio
Darby Dorras, Somethin’ Else
Dave Masterman, Absolute Radio
Ed Morrish, Freelance
Peter Curran, The Foghorn Company


 Annabelle Buckland, JACKfm 
Chris Evans Production Team, BBC Radio 2 
Chris Gilvear, Jazz FM 
Mark Carter, BBC Sussex & BBC Surrey
Nick Carter, BBC Radio Cambridgeshire


Celebrating a newcomer to audio production who shows potential to reach the very highest level.

Hannah Dean, Freelance
Jonathan O’Sullivan, TBI Media
Nathan Gower, Whistledown
Nick Harris, Absolute Radio
Shanida Scotland, Falling Tree Productions
Stuart Russell, Eyebrow Media


For exceptional contributions to audio imaging and/or station sound production.

Ben Stones, BBC Radio Pop Hub Station Sound
Carl Kinsman, Q Radio
Dan Prior, Absolute Radio
Gordon Lundy, Absolute Radio

Liam Hadley, BBC Radio Pop Hub Station Sound
Stan Was, BBC Radio 4


For exceptional on-air talent presenting music programmes. Unrivalled understanding of their chosen music genre(s), the ability to share that passion, plus constant creativity, strong production values and powerful audience connection.

Cerys Matthews, BBC Radio 2 & BBC 6 Music
Emily Segal, heat radio
Lauren Laverne, BBC 6 Music
Ruthie Henshall, Mellow Magic
Steve Lamacq, BBC 6 Music
Trevor Nelson, Somethin’ Else for BBC Radio 2


For outstanding presenters who have recently entered the audio world or recently gained significant mainstream presentation recognition for the first time.

Blanche Girouard, BBC Radio 4
Jessie Ware, Table Manners
Julia Raeside, Great Big Owl
Martin Morales, Block Media
Frankie Wells & Anouszka Tate, Project Pleasure – Transmission Roundhouse
Ronan Keating, Magic Radio

 Will Jackson, Managing Director of AudioUK, which organises the APAs, said: “This year there has been a record number of entries to the awards, with the content showing a real depth and range. We’ve been using where possible the blind judging again which worked well last year, to make sure everyone, whether a well-known producer or a breaking new talent, is on a level playing field. We’re really looking forward to the awards night, which is always tremendous fun and look forward to seeing everyone there.”

See the full shortlist here.

The ceremony will take place November 22nd at BFI Southbank.

Latest News

16 May 2024

Bauer Media Audio UK ‘Hits’ new highs, with 24m weekly listeners

Read More
14 May 2024

Mentos and KISS Fresh celebrate fresh talent with new Corner Shop Drop series

Read More
13 May 2024

Absolute Radio teams up with Fun Kids Radio for Bedtime Story – featuring Jason Manford

Read More
10 May 2024

The Music That Made Me returns to Jazz FM for Season 5

Read More