Skip to Content
13 June 2018

Digital Radio Pioneers Announced for Digital Radio Hall of Fame

The names of digital radio pioneers were announced as the first inductees into the Digital Radio Hall of Fame at a the Digital Radio Stakeholders’ Summer Reception sponsored by Arqiva and held at Bauer Media in Camden yesterday.

The announcement was made by radio consultant and historian David Lloyd following nominations from digital radio stakeholders and judging by an eminent panel of radio experts. The nine individuals were judged to have made an outstanding contribution to the success of digital radio over the last 20 years as digital radio pioneers and innovators.

Reinforcing that the establishment of digital radio as the majority of radio listening in the UK has been a collaborative and cross-industry effort, the Digital Radio Hall of Fame will include individuals from all sectors and areas that have contributed to digital radio progress, with representatives from broadcasters, retailers, manufacturers, automotive, Ofcom and Government.


The Digital Radio Hall of Fame Inductees are:

Dame Jenny Abramsky

Former Director of Audio and Music, BBC


Grae Allan

DAB Radio Director, Bauer Media


Ralph Bernard

Former CEO GCap Media


Michael Hill

Founder and Managing Director, Radioplayer


Quentin Howard

Former CEO Digital One, and Managing Director, GWR


John Kempner

Buyer, John Lewis


Rashid Mustapha

Engineer, Ofcom


Ian O’Neill OBE

Head of Television; Programme Director Radio, DCMS 


Sir Hossein Yassaie

Chairman, Pure, and Former Chief Executive Officer of Imagination Technologies

The inductees will receive their Digital Radio Hall of Fame award at a special ceremony to be held at the Drive to Digital Conference at the British Museum on 25 September.

The Digital Radio Hall of Fame judges were: Dee Ford, Bauer Media; Helen Boaden, formerly-BBC: William Rogers, UKRD; Will Harding, Global; Jimmy Buckland, Wireless Group; Lindsey Mack; BBC; David Lloyd, Radio Consultant and Historian; Bernie O’Neill, WorldDAB; Emma Hill, Radioworks; Peter Davies, formerly-Ofcom; Glyn Jones, Arqiva; Diane Fuller, Roberts Radio; and Sophie Spooner, Pure. 

Ford Ennals, CEO Digital Radio UK, said: “We congratulate the first ever inductees into the Digital Radio Hall of Fames on their recognition and their achievement. It has taken over 20 years to get to a point where digital radio represents the majority of radio listening in the UK and this simply couldn’t have happened without the outstanding contributions of these individuals and the organisations they represent. There has been a tremendous response to the announcement of the Digital Radio Hall of Fame and our thanks go to all the stakeholders who provided nominations and to the eminent panel of judges.”

David Lloyd, Radio Consultant and Historian, said: “As a radio historian I have watched with interest the rise of digital radio over the last 20 years from the early days of excitement and optimism through a period of uncertainty and on to the launch of a series of successful digital stations and the achievement of 50% digital listening. Clearly the success of digital radio has been a real team effort across the wider radio industry and this is reflected in the outstanding individuals who the judges agreed should be recognised by inducting them into the Digital Radio Hall of Fame.”


About Digital Radio UK

Digital Radio UK works with Government, broadcasters, manufacturers, retailers, and a wide range of stakeholders to make digital radio the natural choice at home, in car and on the move, and to help secure UK radio’s digital future. Digital Radio UK’s Board comprises representatives from the BBC, Arqiva, Global and Bauer Media together with Radiocentre and techUK.


For further information

Yvette Dore, Communications Director, Digital Radio UK

0207 010 0722/07887 682 909              


Latest News

16 May 2024

Bauer Media Audio UK ‘Hits’ new highs, with 24m weekly listeners

Read More
14 May 2024

Mentos and KISS Fresh celebrate fresh talent with new Corner Shop Drop series

Read More
13 May 2024

Absolute Radio teams up with Fun Kids Radio for Bedtime Story – featuring Jason Manford

Read More
10 May 2024

The Music That Made Me returns to Jazz FM for Season 5

Read More